Message from the President

Dear All,

I am so excited to share this year with you and our colleagues. These are challenging yet fascinating times for educators, especially in Oklahoma. We are redefining education.  We are facing the greatest opportunity to advocate for the benefits of global education, and as it has been said, world language education it is not a privilege but a right. Participation in World Language education has been shown to close achievement gaps and provide significant cognitive and educational benefits to all learners, empowering them to better serve our national interests, in the areas of global security, economic growth, social justice and even science. We, as a community of educators, are strategically positioned to have great impact on the future of our society.  We can and we must influence others to value multicultural diversity and there is no better way to gaining a deep understanding of diverse perspectives than through the exploration that takes place in the World Language classroom.

It is my intention to share worthy resources via our conferences, Edmodo page and website. From the hearts of each of us this can help us build and maintain a meaningful, reciprocal, professional conversation. Our professional learning community is a valuable resource, let us continue our dialogue. 

Serving Oklahoma students,

Carina Plett

Carina C. Plett, NBCT

OFLTA President

2014 OFLTA Teacher of the Year

Copyright @ Oklahoma Foreign Language Teachers' Association. All rights reserved.

Oklahoma Foreign Language Teachers' Association

Officers and Members of the 
OFLTA Board of Directors

Carina Plett, NBCT
Whitney Stafford-Najibi, NBCT

Melanie Reynolds 
Zach Grimm
Allison Lee
Recording Secretary
Bob Lemon
AATG President
Alejandra Delgadillo Priest
AATSP President 
Lynn Robertson
AATF President
John Hansen
Alice Nan

Amanda Cobb-Greetham

Liaison for Native American Languages

Dr. Mara Sukholutskaya
Oklahoma Council of Teachers of Russian
Dr. Cathleen Skinner
Co-Chair Advocacy

Elise Robillard

Co-Chair Advocacy

Cody Walker
At Large New Teacher Liaison
Maria Valdes
Registration Chair

Julie Oppel

Rudi Nollert
Jasmin Chevis-Cook
Social Media and Webmaster

Dr. Donna Shelton
OK Foreign Language Council of College Chairs
Dr. Lowell Dunham
Desa Dawson
Ex-Officio, Director of WLOE at the OSDE

President-Elect, ACTFL
Deanna Roach, NBCT

OFLTA Executive Secretary-Treasurer